Cinemalaya announces 10 finalists to the 2009 independent film festival

Dino Manrique's picture

Cinemalaya Foundation announced recently the 10 finalists in the full-length feature category of the Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival and Competition.

These are "24K" by Ana Agabin; "Ang Nerseri (The Nursery)" by Vic Acedillo, Jr., "Ang Panggagahasa Kay Fe" by Alvin B. Yapan; "Astig (Mga Batang Kalye)" by GB Sampedro; "Colorum" by Jon Steffan Ballesteros; "Dinig Sana Kita" by Mike E. Sandejas; "Engkwentro" by Pepe Diokno; "Last Supper No. 3" by Veronica Velasco and Jinky Laurel; "Mangatyanan (The Blood Trail)" by Jerrold Tarog and "Sanglaan" by Milo Sogueco.

For having been chosen finalists, they will receive an initial seed investment of R500,000 from Econolink Investments. The final winning entry will be given an additional grant of R200,000 plus the Cinemalaya Trophy during the awarding rites on July 26, 2009 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines. All the films will be screened during the 2009 Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival and Competition on July 17-26, 2009 at the CCP.

Congratulations to my Real Time Writing classmates Ana Agabin and Ron Velasco! :D Congratulations also to my Doy Del Mundo Workshop classmate, Mike Sandejas! :D Got this link btw, from the Multiply blog of member Jerrold Tarog. Congratulations, Jerrold! :D And to the rest of the finalists, congratulations!:D